top of page
Sports Car in Storm



2017 Inaugural Championship

2017 Inaugural ChampionshipThe 2017 season was the first season of the GRID Ranking. The first leader of the GRID Ranking was IndyCar racer Sebastien Bourdais. Bourdais would lead up until May, when he lost the lead to Kevin Harvick from NASCAR. However, Harvick had nothing for fellow competitor Martin Truex, Jr, the series champion. Truex earned eight wins, including the season finally, sealing the deal for the first GRID Ranking World Championship over MotoGP racer Marc Marquez.  


2018 2nd GRID World  Championship

The second season of the GRID Ranking again saw IndyCar racer Sebastien Bourdais lead the first weekend of the GRID Ranking, but it didn't last long as NASCAR saw three drivers dominate most of the season. Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, and the 2017 GRID Ranking Champion Martin Truex, Jr. all exchanged the lead. However, Marc Marquez at MotoGP had several dominating races, earning the lead with a few weeks left. Kyle Busch failed to finish third or better at the NASCAR season finale, coming up short of passing Marquez by 0.01 point.


2019 GRID Ranking & WML

The third season was historic and saw only one change in the GRID Ranking World Championship. Scott McLaughlin lead the GRID Ranking for a record 32 straight weeks, but a couple of DNS brought down Scott’s point total, allowing Marc Marquez to overtake Scott with a dominant season and became the first two time and back to back GRID Ranking World Champion.

The ultimate motorsport league where races on 2 or 4 wheels compete on a global stage. The World Motorsport League follows drivers that compete in multiple series, all championship races are scored, and a GRID World Motorsport League Champion is crowned annually. Kazuki Nakajima from World Endurance Championship outscored Marc Marquez to earn the inaugural championship!


2020 GRID World Motorsport League & Ranking

The 2020 GRID World Motorsport League (WML) saw the closest finish in the WML history. By 0.02, Phil Hanson took the title over Lewis Hamilton. Lewis did miss one race due to testing positive for COVID-19, but Phil Hanson had a sensational season with 21 races, seven wins, 11 podiums, four poles, and one fastest lap. Along with LMP2 Drivers FIA Endurance Trophy and European Le Mans Series - LMP2 Championship. 

The 2020 GRID Ranking came down to Lewis Hamilton and Scott McLaughlin and, due to Lewis Hamilton, secured the GRID Ranking with two races left in the Formula 1 season. Lewis becomes the third driver to win the GRID Ranking World Championship and the first Formula 1 driver to win the GRID Ranking World Championship. Lewis was the world's best, dominating the F1 season and earning Knighthood! 

2021 GRID World Motorsport League & Ranking

A historic GRID World Motorsport League saw Jamie Chadwick from the W Series become the first female racer to win a GRID World Championship. Her dominating performance in the W Series got her ahead of the rest of the racers across the world! 

The GRID Ranking World Championship came down to Shane van Gisbergen, Sebastien Ogier, and Kyle Larson. Kyle Larson was eliminated after Ogier won the WRC season finale at Monza, setting it up for van Gisbergen to wrap it up at the Bathurst 1000.


Shane van Gisbergen was in a position to win the GRID Ranking World Championship. However, a late flat tire with a handful of laps relegated him to the back. It allowed Sebastien Ogier to win the GRID Ranking World Championship, becoming the first French and World Rally Championship driver to win the GRID Ranking.

2022 GRID Ranking & 
Shane van Gisbergen

A historic display of domination was on full display in the Repco Supercars Series when Shane van Gisbergen wrapped up the GRID Ranking at the Bathurst 1000 in October, becoming the first driver to wrap up the GRID Ranking in October! Shane had 21 wins and 27 podiums in 34 races in the 2022 Supercars Series season. Shane's season topped the GRID Ranking every week after Scott McLaughlin led the first weekend. 

The season also saw Max Verstappen pull away from everyone in Formula 1 to claim the F1 World Drivers Championship early. Francesco Bagnaia overcame a 91-point deficit in MotoGP to claim his first World Championship.

Will Power won the INDYCAR Series Championship and finished fourth in the GRID Ranking with only one win. Still, a consistent season of podiums and top-10 finishes overcame Josef Newgarden's five-win season.


2023 GRID Ranking and GRID Endurance Performance Index


The 2023 saw Max Verstappen and Red Bull put together one of the most dominating performances of all time in motorsports. Max Verstappen won all but three races en route to claiming the 2023 GRID Ranking World Championship and led the GRID Ranking every week. Sergio Perez had two race wins, bringing Red Bull a nearly perfect season, which came up one race short when Carlos Sainz capitalized at the Singapore Grand Prix when Red Bull had a rare off-weekend.


In a distant second place was Alex Palou, who dominated the NTT INDYCAR Series for INDYCAR Series standards with five wins and wrapped up the championship at Portland the race before the season finale. Brodie Kostecki came in third and claimed his first Repco Supercars Series championship by holding off the 2022 GRID Ranking World Champion, Shane van Gisbergen.


Shane van Gisbergen made history by becoming the first driver to score points in three GRID Ranking Series with his win at the NASCAR Cup Series Chicago Street Race. Shane finished in the top 10 in the WRC Rally New Zealand and joined Scott McLaughlin as the only other driver to score wins in two GRID Ranking Series. Shane van Gisbergen will not compete full-time in any GRID Ranking Series in 2024, meaning his streak of finishing in the top 20 of every GRID Ranking since 2017 will end. 


Lewis Hamilton is the only driver who has finished in the GRID Ranking every season since 2017, but for the second consecutive year, he did not finish in the top 10. For the first time, the NASCAR Cup Series champion did not make it into the GRID Ranking final standing as Ryan Blaney was 6th in the NASCAR Rating by the end of the season. Not counting NASCAR, only MotoGP saw the championship come to the final race of the season as Pecco Bagnaia clinched it after Jorge Martin crashed out early.

The 2023 motorsport year was the first full year of the GRID Endurance Performance Index (EPI), which covers sportscar racing. Introduced in 2022  for the Le Mans 24 Hours, the EPI focuses on drivers in major sportscar events. It follows drivers across different series as the arrival of the Hypercar introduces the potential of drivers racing across series for key events. 

Raffaele Marciello won the inaugural 2022 GRID EPI; in 2023, he and over 100 different drivers scored in the EPI. As anticipated, the Toyota Gazoo drivers were the favorite for the first full season championship, the question was which car and which driver would take the top honor in 2023? 

The Toyota GR010 Hybrid car number eight took the top honors and a tie between codriver Sebastien Buemi and Ryo Hirakawa for the 2023 Championship. The eight-car only won two races but finished second place four times and one sixth place finish during the 2023 World Endurance Championship (WEC) season. 

The 2023 season and the introduction of Hypercar was just the first of many years of racing, where more drivers are anticipated to enter events across IMSA and WEC during the calendar year. Plus, the prestige 24 Hour of Le Mans is the biggest race of the calendar year for the EPI.

bottom of page